|
 
The Library Website enables our community to see the Library as
the Very Best Place to Start! to find information resources.
Links to exceptional databases as well as the Library’s online
catalog are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Dive in to
explore the following featured online resources:
 
Use the online library catalog to search
for a particular book by author (last name, first name), title,
or subject. Your search generates a Results List from which you
can select the item you wanted. Detailed information on the item,
including its availability, is available by clicking on the title.
If the item is checked out, you may request that it be held for
you when it is returned to the library. You can also view the week's
New York Times bestseller lists.
The My Account section of the online
library catalog contains information on the library items you have
checked out, holds placed, fines owed, and profile data (name, address,
phone). You can renew books online in the "Items Out"
section of My Account. The NC Live database password can
be found here as well as other database password information. To
access My Account, type in your library
card barcode (no spaces) and PIN number. If you do not have a PIN
number, call the library and ask that we add your 4-digit PIN to
your record.
SEARCH
Library Catalog
 
NC LIVE provides North Carolina residents with access to high quality
information sources that otherwise would be restricted or available
only by individual subscription. It includes searchable collections
of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, electronic books,
historical materials, maps, encyclopedias and much more - covering
business, medicine, history, law, education, psychology and social
science subjects as well as general subjects and recreational reading.
Any North Carolina resident with a library card and password can
use NC LIVE. The NC LIVE password may be found in My Account of
the Library Catalog.
SEARCH
NC LIVE
 
Mango is an online language learning system teaching practical conversation skills for real communication. It’s the fast, easy and effective way to learn to speak a foreign language! Mango Languages is the #1 online language learning in the U.S. Mango currently offers 36 foreign languages including 14 English as a Second Language (ESL) specific courses. Choose your language and level of instruction. Basic courses are a fast and easy way to learn polite conversation. Complete courses are more in-depth. Ready. Set. Mango! Learn a language now!
SEARCH Mango
 
ReferenceUSA, a resource of NC LIVE, is a subscription database directory
sold only to libraries, educational institutions and government
agencies. It contains detailed information on 13 million businesses
and 120 million households in the U.S. Information may be accessed
from any location with your library barcode number. The information
is ideal for:
• job seekers looking for companies and contact names
• salespeople looking for leads or conducting market research
• entrepreneurs searching for business opportunities or suppliers
• law firms researching patents; consumers locating out-of-town
companies
• vacationers locating motels, restaurants and attractions
in other cities
• newcomers to the area looking for daycare, real estate agents,
doctors, schools and more...
SEARCH
ReferenceUSA
 
StartSquad is the very best place to
start for children, parents, librarians, and teachers seeking
age-appropriate Web sites selected and organized by professionally
trained librarians.
Sites are selected based on the following
criteria:
• Material appropriate for children in the target age group
• Accurate and timely information
• Authorship clearly indicated
• No obvious violation of copyright law
• Objective, balanced presentation of information
• Commercial sites must contain appropriate entertainment
or educational content. Sites that only offer particular product/ordering
information are not included.
• Information presented in a manner to stimulate imagination
and curiosity
SEARCH
StartSquad
 
HeritageQuest, the largest genealogical data provider in the United
States, has over 250,000 titles in its source document holdings.
Search Census to find ancestors and relatives in the complete set
of US Federal Census Records from 1790-1930. Search Books to find
information on people and places described in over 25, 000 family
and local histories. Search Persi to find information about people
and places from this index of over 1.6 million genealogy and local
history articles. Search for information in Revolutionary War era pension and land records. HeritageQuest, now a resource of NC LIVE, may be used from any location by logging into NC LIVE and selecting History & Genealogy from the Subject list.
SEARCH
Heritage Quest
 
Auto Repair Reference Center provides clear, concise repair information, based on Chilton's, for professionals and do-it-yourselfers. Choose the make and model of the auto to access repair information, or look into service bulletins, wiring diagrams, and labor topics. Log into ARRC from the library or from any other location with your library barcode number. ARRC is a resource of EBSCO.
SEARCH Auto Repair Reference Center
 
NC ECHO (North Carolina Exploring Cultural Heritage Online) is a
doorway to the special collections of North Carolina’s libraries,
archives, museums, historic sites and other cultural institutions.
The database allows users to browse by City, County,
Institution or Subject to find research materials or NC vacation
destinations. NC ECHO partners stretch 888 miles from
the West's Museum of the Cherokee in Murphy, NC to the East's Roanoke
Island Festival Park in Manteo. They include the small, volunteer-run
community crossroads museums,
as well as nationally recognized research institutions.
SEARCH
NC Echo
 
Ancestry Library Edition™ is a genealogy research tool created for the library market. Remote
access to Ancestry is not available.
Patrons in the library have instant access to a wide range of unique
resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than
1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records;
court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories;
passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding. The library personal
computers can access Ancestry at http://ancestrylibrary.proquest.com
.
 
Search essential historical records for African Americans. Connect with other researchers in the AfriGeneas online community. Consult reference works on African American genealogy research. The database may be used in the library or remotely with an ID and password; contact the library for this information.
SEARCH African American Heritage
| Mocksville
Branch
371 N. Main Street
Mocksville, NC 27028
(336) 753-6030 |
 |
Cooleemee
Branch
Cooleemee Shopping Center
Cooleemee, NC 27014
(336) 284-2805 |
This project was supported in part
by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the
provisions of the federal Library Services and Technology
Act as
administered by the State Library of North Carolina.
|
|
|